Discovering the heritage
A little bit of history
Already in 1834, Alfred Canel helped us discover a very rich pass on the events in Beuzeville and its area thanks to his book <<Essai historique et statistique sur le canton de Beuzeville>>.
In fact, this region which extends from near the Abbey founded by Grestain Herluin in 1050 was at the heart of Normandies history.
Its author spoke of the siege of the fortress of Fort-Moville, in the eleventh century depicted the region under the yoke of the English invaders, spoke of the terrible famine in 1725 during which the Bourgeoisie had to arm themselves to look for bread in the country. Also mentioning the inn of the Golden Apple where William the conqueror stayed around 1080, or Saint-Cerans fountain where patients were on a pilgrimage to treat their skin near Carbec-Grestain .
He revived famouse people like the count of Mortain and Conteville who fought alongside Robert Beuême against Henry who he prisionned and tortured.
Far from being as docuemented as Mr Canels version, you will find in these pages a succinct overvieuw of Beuzeville and its areas history.
Beuzeville, the capital of the township.
Destroyed by a fire in 1764, the town doesn’t have very much old buildings left. The town centre, often called “Beuzeville les Franches Terres” was at the heart of a fertile land which fed a very important market. The center had a butchers hall, two wheat halls and a few halettes used as shops or boutiques.
Later on [the growing], these buildings were remplaced and then destroyed to make circulation of cars around the town easier. Today the old wheat halls have became the towns party hall.
The post office, built in 1963 remplaces the old girls school and the school group: Georges Bourquin, rechristened today as Pierre Mendès France succeeds in boy schooling.
The area throughout centuries
The township of Beuzeville welcomed the first men, and then the celts and the Scottish. In the third century, the barbarian invasions dislodge the gallo romane and the Viking take possession of the territory. Harassing with no end the population until the 11th century, they left many traces of their passage, especially in the names of certain towns like Beuzeville which comes from “both” meaning protector.
In 1841, they destroy Pental’s monastery which Saint-Samson, evangelist of the region built on the banks of the Risle.
In the 5th century, a promotes an expansion and churches are built, the oldest one being Fiquefleur.
Then in 1050, the abbaye of Grestain is founded by Herluin from Conteville and Arlette, mother of Guillaume the Conqueror. At the same time was built the Chateau fort at Conteville where the Normand Dukes and young Guillaume stayed.
Sadly, during the history, the area suffered from the big conflicts: the 100 year war reform, revolution but also the big wars…in 1944, the area is the place of many fights: many allied troops fought to free Beuzeville from occupation and died during terrible clashes in la Vallée de la Morelle.
However, thanks to these periods of peace, our territory was enriched by an architectural heritage (manors, castels, church) still visible today.
Discover the diversified heritage of Beuzeville and its area.
Visit Beuzeville’s church <<St Hélier>> and admire the sparkling stained-glass from the stained-glass master: François Décorchement. Follow William the conquerors steps…
Many mansions and lofts
The fortified farmhouse in Saint Sulpice de Grimbouville (manoir d’aubigny) and it’s oval chapel (XVIIth century).
Le manoir Saint Léger at the Lande saint léger (17th century)
Mansion brought up in the 17th century by the family of Saint Léger constard exemplifies the architectural transition from the 16th century mansions built by chaining vertical stone, flint walls, cornrices resting on carves corbels and timber.
The Vannecrocq loft
The “bove cote lantern” of Vannecrocq is one of 12 buildings that made up a large farm dating back to the 19th century. The farm stopped it’s exploitation a few years ago, and the loft was abandoned for several years. Now owned by Françoise Biot, the loft is a rental place.
This charming mill, used for both wood and flow, operational from 1769 to 1965 is still in working condition today. It is owners, M. and Mrs Derouet can prove this to you. Today used as chambers d’hôtes, the mill will welcome you in an original as authentic way.
Traces of activities of the past
Fibre cotton mills and wood in the pit
Built in 1835, near the stream of godeliers what remains on the banks of the estuary go on the discovery of sea activity from the past. True sea highway, the Seine is also an important crossroad of circulation, bringing together the two normandies by a few bridges which cross it, true links as well with the north Europe.
The area of Beuzeville benefits of being close and this is how you can see throughout beautiful walks in our community on our territory, exceptional landscapes, from land to sea.